Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Red Pepper Restaurant
  
 
Ca Dario

Red Pepper Restaurant
No longer in business
Opened: ? Closed: 2019-04

282 Orange Ave, Goleta
Phone: (805) 964-0995


Reviews by the General Public

Hidden Gem, 6/9/2016
Reviewer: Jess from Santa Barbara, CA
This is by far one of the best Chinese spots in the SB area. The atmosphere is very casual, which is nice - the quality of food from a more fancy Chinese place like those downtown, but not so uptight. Its an unfussy atmosphere and the food shines. The salt and pepper spare ribs are delicious. The chow mein was great - not too greasy and all of the ingredients were cooked perfectly. I will definitely be coming back!


Big Big Secret!, 2/23/2016
Reviewer: Quatre from VA
I have lived in Santa Barbara for two years now, and with my past being in New York and Los Angeles, with a lot of exposure to quality Chinese cooking, I have been frustrated here. But sometimes it takes awhile to find the right place. This is perhaps even more true when the right place turns out to be on a random side street off of Hollister Avenue in Goleta. I mean, who would have known? I think I have this guide to thank for finding it: I may have systematically gone through the other names listed here before I found Red Pepper. Anyway, I think it's extremely good, in an era where most Chinese cuisine in America is in a complete and utter slump. I have only had one visit -- there will be more. I want to mention how clean and nice it is - very simple - don't expect Shun Lee Palace. The ladies running the dining room are so sweet and attentive. One kept saying, after I complimented her: 'Welcome Home.' I think she's on to something. Go


A family run restaurant that will make your family happy, 3/11/2014
Reviewer: George from Goleta, CA
I'm a local business person who entertains both his out of town guests and family at the Red Pepper at least monthly, sometimes weekly. When I want a nice meal and casual atmosphere, its my go to favorite in Goleta. It is a hard to find, out of the way place, which is good, because it is small. Locals that know it love it. The hostess is usually very warm and gracious and they will make almost anything you would like, just ask for it. Our favorites are General's chicken, basil beef, kung pao chicken, marinated, sautÚd green beans, "pancakes" (definitely best in SB). Just remember, this is not Denny's, it is a family restaurant. Treat it with gratitude, love and respect and you will be rewarded, and so will your kids and guests.


My favorite Chinese Food place!, 2/27/2014
Reviewer: Sue from Santa Barbara, CA
If you are looking for Orange Chicken or beef and brocolli chicken, fine but you are missing out on the good stuff! My boyfriend and I always choose the Soy Kung Pao Chicken, Cashew Chicken and Shrimp Fried Rice. IT IS SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS. IF you decide to go, please take my word for it and try one of the entrees I listed. Neither of us are vegetarian but we order the soy kung pao chicken bc it is so moist and flavorful.


Tofu and Mixed Chinese Vegetables , 8/13/2013
Reviewer: Robert from Santa Barbara, CA
I asked if they could make something not on the menu: mixed Chinese vegetables with tofu. They asked me what kind of tofu, and I said it didn't matter. It didn't take long for them to bring me an incredible dish for dinner. The sauce was awesome, the vegetables truly a mixture of different Chinese types, and the price was not extra because I asked for something off the menu. This dinner was so good i went back a couple weeks later and tried the vegetarian curry chicken. It was out of this world. I just loved it. Spicy but not too much. Flavorful but not overwhelming. Never had tofu curry this great. I'm a regular now.


History is the best judge, 12/19/2012
Reviewer: Robert from Santa Barbara, CA
I have been going to the Red Pepper for about ten years and have never had a bad meal. The food is always very good and the prices very reasonable. I love the basil scallops and shrimp, but also the tofu curry chicken is awesome. They always have good sauces, not overwhelming but delicate and tasty. The service varies depending upon circumstances but Sue nor anyone else there has always been courteous to me and helpful. I have no idea why some people have issues with this place. Let history be the judge. Ten years is a long time to really like a place, and I still go there and will continue to do so. It's a great deal and a special secret of Goleta.


Don't ask for service, they get offended. , 12/7/2012
Reviewer: Paula from Santa Barbara, CA
We had been here before and had no problems. This time, it was a Thursday night, we had a little over 90 minutes set aside for dinner. There was only two of us and many of the tables were for 4 or more people each. We were seated a tiny corner that must have been a closet at some point. We were given water and tiny salads but no chopsticks (or other utensils) and no menus. After waiting 10 minutes, one of us decided to go get some menus. After waiting 15 additional minutes, we succeed in flagging down a waitress who immediately asks if we are in a hurry. We say no but tell her that we do have another place to be at in an hour. She then starts yelling at us, saying that we shouldn't come to this restaurant if we were in a hurry, NEVER MIND THAT WE WERE ALREADY WAITING NEARLY A HALF AN HOUR ALREADY. Yeah, we're not going to go there again.


Awful Food, 3/5/2012
Reviewer: Brett from Santa Barbara, CA
I don't know what the hype is behind this place. Last week I picked up Orange Chicken, Kung Pao Chicken and Vegetable Chow Mein. We were very excited to try "the best chinese food" in Santa Barbara. Seriously, Panda Express is better. The Orange Chicken....where is the chicken. All we got were orange peels and deep fried batter. No chicken. It was rubbery and made me think of old socks. It was awful. The Kung Pao chicken, watery, spicy, no flavor. The Chow Mein, rubbery, dry, flavorless. What a waste of $30 plus gas driving to and from downtown. I know everyone loves the onion pancake, but what about the real food????? I'm so confused as to what the attraction is here. I won't eat here again. We threw away all the leftover. What a waste.


So so, 11/23/2011
Reviewer: Charlotte from Goleta
Went there with family. Orange chicken and Kung pao beef dry and salty. Hot & sour soup and onion pancakes were worth going! No hugs, no smiles?? We were very polite, what's the deal? Just ok. :( We desperately miss Hu's in Palms, West L.A.!!!!!


Best Food!! , 9/7/2011
Reviewer: Claire from Santa Barbara, CA
I come here for lunch all the time... the food is amazing and the service is fast! I usually order an onion pancake and kong pao chicken...it's the best!


Great food, Great Prices and Hugs, 7/23/2011
Reviewer: Marilyn M from Santa Barbara, CA
Read the reviews and was curious to see how accurate they were. The food was so good with generous portions and super reasonable prices. We had the onion pancakes, pot stickers, sweet and sour pork and spicy basil beef. The two meat dishes were overflowing with meat and fresh and tasty. Service was friendly and welcoming. My husband mentioned to the waiter that he liked the music playing and the owner Su came over and gave him the CD. That's when I got my first hug. i got my second on the way out. Great place, off the beaten path! We'll be back for sure.


Best Chinese Food Outside of San Francisco, 3/17/2011
Reviewer: Nancy from Santa Barbara
Love the onion pancakes, the general's chicken, the soup, the salad and the kiss from Mama when I leave. I look forward to eating at the Red Pepper on a regular basis...I hope it never goes away!!!


One of Goleta's best kept secrets, 3/15/2011
Reviewer: Bob M. from Goleta
If you dine here and leave dissatisfied it must be that you are beyond human aid. I go here often and feel completely at home and served well each time. Free hugs on your way out!


What is going on?, 2/17/2011
Reviewer: Carol from Santa Barbara, CA
Two of us went there for lunch today and we never were approached from anyone to take our order. We asked two other employees that were working the floor, one who brought us the salad and some water, and they both told us "Sue" would take our order. Well Sue ignored us and never did take our order, so after 40 minutes, we just left. Too bad. Well NEVER go there again.


Yes, it's true, they do love you, 1/5/2011
Reviewer: James from Santa Barbara, CA
In a city full of expensive and often mediocre food... a lone group of chefs appear to battle the forces of cold food, incompetent cooks, and customer exploitation. Aided by the friendliest wait staff this side of the valley, the RED PEPPER WARRIORS serve up HOT, TASTY, and FRESH Chinese cuisine at the speed of AWESOME. Needless to say, I come here at least once a month. The prices are phenomenal, the restaurant is clean and tidy, but most importantly you truly feel welcome when you come here. And yes, when you leave, you WILL get a hug, so don't come grumpy. Now if only they delivered.


Finally! Good Chinese food!!!, 12/11/2010
Reviewer: Jennie from Santa Barbara, CA
I'd heard good things about this place, but was always hesitant to try it because it looks a little sketchy from the outside. I am SO glad I got over appearance! Inside its clean and nice, and the staff are super friendly. The food was excellent - and we knew it was super fresh because one of the staff was sitting at a big table up front cleaning a big bag of string beans! We tried three different entrees, and after reading reviews here, also got the onion pancakes - everything was soooo yummy! And yes, we got a hug on the way out! I am so glad to have finally tried this place and know I'll be back often!


The best lunch I have ever had in Goleta, 10/28/2010
Reviewer: Barbara from Goleta, CA
Food is amazing and really fresh (vegetables taste like real vegetables, not some overcooked or overfried old carrots!), service more than friendly, and all that at a really low price (and you don't get it often in SB or even Goleta). In love with the first bite, can't wait to come back.


Happening Place!, 9/25/2010
Reviewer: Bob M. from Santa Barbara, CA
I love the Hot & Sour soup. Sue gives her patrons hugs and makes you feel like you are somebody. For under $10.00 it is better than a trip to your therapist's office.


Good Food and Service, 9/3/2010
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
This place is not as regal as Empress Palace or anything but the food is good and the people are nice. The best way to describe the Onion pancakes is that they are not like breakfast pancakes, its more like an onion pita that has been fried but light and airy like a churro or naan bread. The dipping sauce they give you with it gives it a good kick. The entrees are on par with a Madam Lu, Uncle Chen, Mandarin Palace, Wings etc with not a vast amount of different entrees but the nice owner sets a nice vibe in the restaurant(unlike the vibe at China Pavilion or Empress) and makes you want to eat there. Yes and get the hug on the way out too from her, we and our bellies love you back!


Good times, good food, 8/27/2010
Reviewer: Justine from Santa Barbara, CA
Ate here last night with 2 friends--both first-timers--and we all loved it. Tucked away in a corner of Old Town Goleta, it looks like a funky old apartment building (well, it probably is, with apts above the restaurant). The interior is unassuming, open and comfortable. Onion pancakes, pot stickers, General Tso chicken, spicy basil beef and my favorite, the Kung Pao soy chicken--all were excellent and quite affordable as well. Our 3 entrees did come out with wide gaps between them, but because we were eating family style, that wasn't too much of an inconvenience. A sweet touch is when Su, the owner, gives you a hug and says "I love you" as you leave. Oh, and the lemon as a doorstop is priceless! I am already plotting my next sojourn to G-town for Red Pepper...


great food. I love the egg foo yung, 7/2/2010
Reviewer: Danae Liechti from Santa Barbara, CA
nice people. great food. the sauces are amazing


Such a great find!, 5/27/2010
Reviewer: Cheng from Santa Barbara, CA
The food here is fresh, affordable, absolutely delicious, and most importantly... authentic. I'm chinese, and this restaurant really reminds me of the old country. Reminds me of home. Eat here often!


Onion Pancakes!, 4/7/2010
Reviewer: Cindy G from Santa Barbara, CA
Su is great! Her restaurant is by far my favorite Chinese restaurant in all of the 805. Everything taste so good, especially the Kung Pao Chicken, Beef in the sizzling plate, and of course, the Onion Pancakes. There's just nothing like them any where else. Trust me, I've looked for Onion Pancakes in other Chinese restaurants---they never have them. If they do, it's never as good as Red Pepper's. This place is also very affordable. For a hole-in-the-wall restaurant, this hidden gem in Goleta has the largest following/more great reviews out of all the Chinese restaurants featured here. I told Su this and she couldn't believe it.


We love the vegitarian Choices!, 3/9/2010
Reviewer: David and Ann from Santa Barbara, CA
My wife is a vegan and we can get meatless entrees that are outstanding! We have eaten there for years now and have become friends with the owner. Red Pepper is still often our date night (or day) destination.


Best Chinese Food Around, 2/20/2010
Reviewer: Nancy from Santa Barbara, CA
This is a diamond in the rough. Red Pepper might have a limited menu but the quality of their food is fantastic. I am usually not a fan on Kung Pao anything but theirs is heavenly as is their Imperial Shrimp. Even their appetizers and soup are excellent. I shouldn't write such a good review because I don't want Red Pepper to be inundated by tourists but they definitely deserve the business. I LOVE Red Pepper and their owner!


awesome food, 1/27/2010
Reviewer: Nancy from Santa Barbara, CA
great food and great service. I'll be back for sure.


Are you guys for real???, 1/23/2010
Reviewer: heartcookie from Santa Barbara, CA
I'm stunned by how many people rated the food at this place five stars. This place isn't the worst Chinese food I've ever had, but it certainly is mediocre. I ordered the Schzewan eggplant with ground pork, and was very disappointed. It was as if they didn't know how to make it and were improvising. I've definitely had better for less money. Also, the service was not the best. My food took a while, and after I got it, the waitress paid little attention to me.


Best Chinese food around, 11/15/2009
Reviewer: Aaron from Santa Barbara, CA
The title of best Chinese restaurant (in my mind, anyway) has changed hands several times, and Red Pepper is the current title holder. Food and service are both excellent, prices are reasonable. I recommend the soy-based "meat" dishes. Most Chinese restaurants have switched to cheap, chewy, flavorless imitation meat products, but Red Pepper's has near perfect flavor and texture - similar to what China Castle and Yu Shan served back when they were in business.


Great Chinese Food, 11/8/2009
Reviewer: Erik from Santa Barbara, CA
The portions were large and fairly priced. Everything tasted really good. Best Chinese food in Goleta!


WOW, 9/28/2009
Reviewer: Mike from Santa Barbara, CA
Fresh and delicious food. Very warm, sincere and excellent service. We thank you for the great meal and the hug!!


Onion Pancakes, 6/29/2009
Reviewer: V from Santa Barbara, CA
This place is so awesome, the best chineese food in all of Santa Barbara/Goleta. The service is outstanding as well as the food and the onion pancakes with the dipping sauce are to die for. Their addicting!! If you are ever in the area and feel like having some delcious chineese stop by and be prepared to get treated like family :)


Amazing Lunch Deals!, 3/30/2009
Reviewer: Nicole from Santa Barbara, CA
This place is definitley a local hole in the wall type of joint. The outside looks run down and a little scary but once you're inside you're greeted with smiles and menus. I went for lunch today and they brought the salad almost as soon as we sat down. Then came soup and the onion pancakes we ordered. They onion pancakes are definitely delicious! There is a huge amount of food, I basically got two meals for $10 (that includes the pancake). Delicious, great service and fast! I will be back!


Clean, Fresh Yummy Chinese food ever, 3/12/2009
Reviewer: Jamie from Santa Barbara, CA
Thanks to the previous reviewers, we tried this restaurant. Definitely get the ONION PANCAKE! So good. Would have never ordered it off of menu unless it's been recommended and now I'll have to get it every time. Service was so great. I took my little one and she made a mess under the table and they were sooo nice about it. Food is excellent, super clean and fresh. Definitely will go back next time I'm craving Chinese food! Oh! I got the "I love you" too. Made me smile all the way home:)


Best place in Goleta, 2/27/2009
Reviewer: Carmen from Santa Barbara, CA
My husband and I eat here all the time, and love the place. It's great for vegetarians. Their onion pancakes are addictive, and the service is excellent. We usually leave stuffed for $25 or less, and get an "I love you" on the way out. What more can you ask for? We've introduced a number of our friends to this restaurant, and they all love it.


This place is awesome, 2/22/2009
Reviewer: Chris from Santa Barbara, CA
I read all the glowing reviews of this place here on the Restaurant Guide, and decided to try it out myself. The restaurant is on the bottom floor of an old motel building and it doesn't look very enticing from the outside. Don't be fooled though, it's very nice inside and the service there is above and beyond what you'd expect from a Chinese food restaurant. The food is very, very good. I have tried the Cashew Nut Chicken, Kung Pao Beef, Kung Pao Chicken, Mongolian Beef, and Generals Chicken. My favorites have been the Kung Pao Chicken, Mongolian Beef, and Generals Chicken. You can't go wrong with any of these dishes. The Cashew Nut Chicken was good, but I feel it could use a little more spice to make it great. MAKE SURE YOU ORDER THE ONION PANCAKE. I was super skeptical when I read about it here on this page, but it is absolutely delicious. They serve it with this asian salsa that is very tasty. It has soy sauce as the base, and it has onion, cilantro, and a few other ingredients. The service is incredible. When you leave, expect a hug from one of the waitresses who will tell you "I love you." It's a bit awkward the first time, but you will get used to it and you will love the feeling you get when you leave the place. They are very warm, welcoming people. They will remember you when you come back too, so you will feel more comfortable each time you go. The only bad thing I can say is that the prices are a little on the steep side. This is typical no matter where you go in the Santa Barbara area though, so it's not a really big complaint. This place is awesome though, and there is no doubt that I will be going back many, many times.


Check your Bill, 2/5/2009
Reviewer: WW from Santa Barbara, CA
First off I really have to say I love this restaurant and the workers that work there. The food is always really good and we've come here many times (more than I have fingers). Becuase the food and service has been so great, I never found the need to question the bill until the last 2 or 3 visits. We ordered one dish that was $11.99 (I believe) and 2 orders of onion pancake ($2.50). The total came out to $19.88. That would be a 17% tax rate. Anyone else notice this?


Still The Best!!, 10/6/2008
Reviewer: Debbie from Westbury, UK
I just had to leave a review. My husband and I are from the UK and lived in Goleta for a few years 1989-1991. We were taken to the Red Pepper my wonderful friends that we met whilst living there. It was just fantastic, great food always good standard and brill atmosphere. Judy was the name of the owner and she was great. We loved the food so much she must have got fed up with us going there all the time. I have read a few of the reviews and am so pleased that after all this time the Red Pepper is still a thriving business. Well done!


Delicious food, attentive services, feels like home, 9/24/2008
Reviewer: Lam from Goleta, CA
I tried this after reading the reviews and I was more than surprise. The onion pancake was definitely yummy like others said. Me and my boyfriend shared the homestyle tofu and spicy basil beef, which was rather spicy, but good! The complimentary salad and fresh orange as dessert were nice too. I will come back again some day this week for sure!!! love it.


Great food, great service, 9/9/2008
Reviewer: N from Santa Barbara, CA
We went here with friends after reading some promising reviews, and it was great! The orange peel duck was superb, and their onion pancakes are a must try. The service was also some of the best we've seen in SB (especially the good bye hug as you leave the restaurant!).


Down-to-earth restaurant with delicious food & great service, 9/9/2008
Reviewer: Mary from Santa Barbara, CA
My husband, two friends and I visited for the first time tonight. I have been disappointed in the choices for Chinese food in SB, so this was a great surprise. First, the food here cannot be compared to Panda Express or any other American-style fast food establishments, so it would be great if people would stop doing that. The Red Pepper serves the best Chinese food I have yet had in Santa Barbara. Everyone is right about the onion pancakes--they are delicious. The scallion/cilantro relish they serve with the pancakes is original and obviously homemade. I had the basil shrimp and scallops--another great dish with a hearty sauce and a nice spice to it. The atmosphere is much better than other reviewers make out, and I indeed got a hug and an "I love you" from the woman who served us as I walked out the door. She was an attentive waitress and she is obviously a very nice person. I will definitely be returning and I recommend this restaurant highly!


Excellent food, 6/25/2008
Reviewer: Pńr from Stockholm, Sweden
Me and a friend stayed at a motel close by Red Pepper and needed to get some dinner. After reading the reviews on this site we choose Red Pepper, and it turned out to be a good choice. Delicious food, low price and nice service. I had the spicy basil beef and it was mouth watering. If I'm ever in these parts of Santa Barbara again and in the mood for asian cuisine, I'll sure be visiting again!


Good food a little pricey and bland , 6/17/2008
Reviewer: Glenn from
The service is much better than the food with sweet waitress or owner that bend over backwards for you. The food is definitely better than Panda express. Not sure if its better than some Calle Real chinese places though but its not bad and I recommend for a try. Seemed a little pricey and if you really want affordable Chinese maybe a lunchtime all you can eat would be a better choice elsewhere at China City but this could be your best Chinese dinner(casual) bet and the service is the best. Also the sweet n sour sauce was on the bland side.


I love the Pep, 6/10/2008
Reviewer: John from the Good Land
Red Pepper Rocks. The food has always been good and the waitstaff are always a treat. I definately recommend it.


Hands Down the Best Chinese in the area, 5/23/2008
Reviewer: Scott from Goleta
awesome place. its a bit plain inside but you can't find better food or service. the lady that owns the place is such a sweet little lady who really takes pride in her restaurant. i eat here almost once a week and have NEVER been disappointed. i highly recommend the general's chicken or kung pao chicken. the hot and sour soup is also amazing and the onion pancakes too. the price is very reasonable too. the lumch specials are generous and a very good deal. the best part is at the end of the meal when leaving. the sweet lady always is standing by the door and gives hugs as you leave. i will admit, i was a bit freaked out by it the first time. it was a little awkward and caught me off guard. but she is just really sweet and loves her customers very much. it doesn't bother me at all anymore.


Best Chinese in Town, 11/7/2007
Reviewer: Melodie from Santa Barbara
I really love Chinese food a lot and have been sorely disappointed, until I came along to Red Pepper. It is so delicious and the management is so friendly. The Mongolian Beef was so yummy, and I don't normally like it, so I know it is good when I order something I don't normally like. Everything is fresh and the sticky rice is just that, so good! I recommend this place to anyone, it is a diamond in the rough.


Greatest food ever, 9/27/2007
Reviewer: John from Goleta
I love this place. Sue is the greatest and the food is fantastic. I eat there at least once a week and have not opened a menu in over a year. I walk in and Sue starts serving me/us random specials and I have never been disappointed. I highly suggest you try it out.


Good food--great vibe!, 9/25/2007
Reviewer: Justine from SB
As I am just about to leave my job in G-town, I have been lunching my way through all my fave restaurants in the area for a week or so (Alphie's, Pepe's, Natural Cafe)... today I realized it was time to finally try the Red Pepper! I'm sad now I'm leaving: while the food was pretty darn good, the price was beyond reasonable, and the sincere, warm and friendly service--including not one but two hugs!--was much appreciated. I had the combo egg foo yung (shrimp, chicken and beef) and it was very good--the meat and vegetables seemed nice and fresh and the patty itself had a nice crunch to the edges. I was pleased to find that for the price of a normal entree, it was a full lunch combo. The salad dressing was very tasty and the soup was good too. The only things I found underwhelming were the wilted iceberg lettuce in the salad and the pre-fried wonton and egg roll. But I will be back for dinner!


the best chinese restaurant I've been to!, 9/6/2007
Reviewer: Dan from Goleta
The service was awesome! The woman there was so friendly and personable. The appearance of the restaurant was very simple and clean. The food met every one of my expectations, not over spiced or greasy and plenty of tea which was constantly being replenished! I will definitely go back for more.


good food, sneaky pricing, 9/6/2007
Reviewer: Laura from Santa Barbara, CA
I was excited to try this place because I'm from the Bay Area, where great Chinese food is easy to find (and since I'm half Chinese with a mother and grandma who are amazing cooks, I'm picky). I went with friends and we ordered several dishes, including the onion pancakes. The food was pretty good...much better than other Chinese restaurants in SB, and the onion pancakes were amazing (the sauce really makes the dish) so we decided to order (a lot!) more since we were very hungry. The menu says one order costs $2.50, which sounded cheap and wonderful...however, we got our bill and the total was over $20 more expensive than expected. The bill was written in Chinese so we couldn't figure out why it was so much. After questioning our waitress for some time, she finally revealed that each basket of pancakes that was served was actually TWO orders, not one like we assumed, since neither the menu nor the waitress told us that before we ordered. While I don't think $5 is expensive, I take issue with the underhanded way they advertised one price and charged us another without explaining their serving system until it was too late. That experience really ruined our otherwise nice meal, and because of it, I won't be a repeat customer.


My new favorite place!, 7/2/2007
Reviewer: tom griffith from santa barbara ca
This is my new favorite place!


Authentic and exciting, 6/16/2007
Reviewer: Shelley from Goleta, CA
Most chinese restaurants have bland food and it all tastes the same pretty much. The food here is cooked fresh, each dish has an original taste, and the salad is sooo good. The apetizers are also a must!! Their spring rolls and paper wrapped chicken is the best ever! This is by far the best chinese restaurant I have ever been to. It beets chinese restaurants in fullerton and santa ana! My favorite dish is combination fried rice! Their mango shrimp is also excellent!


Love the Curry Chicken and Service, 6/7/2007
Reviewer: Jason from Santa Barbara
I eat here very often and love the food. From the outside you would think it's a hole in the wall run down Chinese Restaurant; however the food and service are terrific. Great hardworking people and great food!!!


great food, 5/10/2007
Reviewer: calvin from santa barbara, ca
great food, friendly service, definitely will be on my repeat list.


Best Chinese in Goleta, 4/30/2007
Reviewer: Mike Sullivan from Goleta, CA
I don't like to criticize others' reviews since they are just opinions, but writing that it's "comparable to Panda Express" is just ridiculous. The food here is delicious. Just look at the great ratings from everyone else! I was very excited to find this restaurant and I visit now about once a week. Tasty food, good value, fast and friendly service.


Now that's a spicy meatball (or pepper rather), 4/26/2007
Reviewer: J.R. Unta from Goleta
Very friendly service, good sized portions for the prices. Free Tea! I can't complain. Food is good, try the cashew chicken.


Favorite In Goleta, 2/27/2007
Reviewer: John from Goleta, CA
Tried this place for the first time last night. Very impressed especially since Goleta Chinese is pretty terrible. The service was prompt and the people were very nice. The food, including the veggies were fresh and tasty. By far the best in Goleta. Will be back!


Much better than "just ok", 2/16/2007
Reviewer: bpearcy from Goleta
Two stars?!!? You must be kidding! This is the best Chinese/Asian restaurant I've ever experienced. I'm sure the reviewer who gave two stars is probably a competitor!


Tightest Chinese for your mouth!, 2/1/2007
Reviewer: Rob Sipe from Westlake Village, CA
Onion Pancakes are the BOMB-Diggity! Plus the nice older Chinese lady that works there is always happy to dish out hugs when needed. All the food is excellent and the atmosphere makes you feel like your snug as a bug in a rug in an old hotel room!


best chinese food in goleta, 12/8/2006
Reviewer: justin from goleta
this is my favorite restaurant in goleta/sb area. there are a ton of vegetarian options and they are really tasty. i always get a hug and an 'i love you' from the waitress when i leave.


Best Traditional Chinese Food in SB Awesome Service, 11/25/2006
Reviewer: Chen from Carpinteria, CA
When you arrive, which is hard to find it does not look like much but then you enter you are greeted by a warm older lady. The restaurant is certainly family owned with few dishes but certainly the most authentic Chinese dishes in Santa Barbara/Goleta/Carpinteria area. Beware it is not for those that think Panda Express is what authentic Chinese food should taste like. The food may be taste milder but seems a lot healthier as well compared to other Chinese-American restaurants in general. The service has always been good. If you are craving a good Ma-Pao Tofu this is a good place for it.


TELL THE WORLD, 11/14/2006
Reviewer: Hovaleen from Montecito
Red Pepper is by far the best hole in the wall discovery. The location is hidden, but well worth a visit AND MANY MORE. The customer service is PREMIUM. The food is AMAZING, and the prices are a bargain. ESPECIALLY for such quality food :) I have yet to try something I dont like. Once you go, you'll wanna keep coming and tell the rest of the world. It's a diamond in the rough. A real treasure. Suggestions to start off: Lunch special (awesome deal) scallion pancakes (appetizer) Awesome salad :) and wonderfully succulent oranges at the end of each meal ^_^ Don't forget, you have to finish eating your fortune cookie before you read the fortune :) Haha. Enjoy!


Best I've had, 10/13/2006
Reviewer: Brian from Goleta
I have been dining here since it opened. This used to be a well guarded secret. Get ther early before the lunch rush. I have never had a dish that wasn't exceptional!


They are on my speed dial, 9/8/2006
Reviewer: Karen from Goleta, CA
in fact they are the only thing on my speed dial at work. I love the food here and you can't beat the level of service you are going to get. The people are so friendly.


awsome!!!!!, 6/15/2006
Reviewer: Monica from Santa Barbara, CA
this is by far the best Chinese restaurant around town. I recommend it all my friends and family. The owner is nice and the food is awsome. A+++


second only to mom's cooking, 5/12/2006
Reviewer: lemonjelly from santa barbara
When people ask me to recommend the best Chinese in Santa Barbara, my default response is that I have none to recommend - obviously no place can cook better than my mother. But the Red Pepper is the only Chinese restaurant I will eat at, if I must eat out with this cuisine. Note: the owner is actually Taiwanese and if you're polite and respectful about it (and especially not expecting it), you might get an off-the-menu culinary lesson between the difference. The decor is nothing special, in fact it's rather drab and unappealing, but I am okay with the food and I think the service is outstanding.


onion pancakes, 1/22/2006
Reviewer: Jennifer from Santa Barbara
Their onion pancake is the best thing I've ever had. on top of that the seafood and the vegetables are soooooo fresh. Just try it once and you'll be coming back for sure


Great Place, 12/10/2005
Reviewer: Ada from Santa Barbara, CA
I thought the onion pancakes were delicious. The service is great and the price is reasonable for Santa Barbara standards. The food gives you more of a homemade taste as oppose to the mainstream flavor. Not the best Chinese food I have had in Santa Barbara, but I would recommend giving it a try.


Best Chinese food around town, 5/5/2005

I eat there all the time. The service, food, atmosphere, and the prices are unbeatable. This is a real family operated restaurant where everyone knows your name, literally.


Wonderful!!!!, 4/19/2005
Reviewer: ali from Santa Barbara
Excellent food and the best service!


Quick bite, 4/11/2005

If you´re looking for an alternative comparable to Panda Express this is the place. You get a good sized portion plue the service is quick and friendly.


just ok, 1/16/2005

Great onion pancakes, mediocre food.


They´re closed on sunday, 9/13/2004
Reviewer: nick from Goleta
Red Pepper isn´t open on Sundays.


bob wake up and smell the eggrolls, 8/23/2004

this place is by far the best chinese food around and you cant ask for better service. bob, the place is closed on sundays. try it on another day even though you dont deserve such fine food.


Great Food...Great Service!!!, 8/3/2004
Reviewer: Kellie from Carpinteria, CA
The food here is consistantly great. The service is friendly. Give it a chance and you will be glad you did.


love it, 4/17/2004
Reviewer: danny from santa barbara, ca
i eat there a lot. excellent lunch prices.


Chinese, not Thai, but very good, 8/23/2003

As soon as we arrived, we were given complimentary salads, which was quite a nice and tasty surprise. The food we ordered was really good, with generous portions for reasonable prices. The service was also really wonderful; welcoming, friendly, and very helpful.


good stuff, 3/31/2002
Reviewer: john from goleta
red pepper has the best service and food of any chinese restaraunt in Santa Barbara. i highly recommend it, don´t judge this book by it´s cover.


good, 3/31/2002
Reviewer: fred
i eat there everyday. i can´t get enough of this place, i wish there were more places like this.


bob?, 3/31/2002
Reviewer: joe
bob obviously doesn´t know what he is talking about. he probably called when they were closed. this is a great place, great food, great service.


didn´t answer their phone, 3/3/2002
Reviewer: Bob
Tried to order take out on Sunday and no one answered the phone


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service