Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Senor Frogs
  
 
Due Lune Cucina

Senor Frogs
No longer in business
Opened: ? Closed: 2019-05

892 Linden Ave, Carpinteria
Phone: (805) 684-9352


Reviews by the General Public

more then competent, good prices, 9/11/2012
Reviewer: Tony from LA
Better than chains (Acapulco, etc.); moderate ambience, good service. First visit, might go back


Would not go again, so sad!, 8/26/2012
Reviewer: Sue from Santa Barbara, CA
Should have known not to eat here. 6:30 on a Saturday night and 2 other people only in the restaurant. Servers were polite. Presentation was good but the food was the worst I had ever eaten except the salsa. My daughter's was from the kid's menu and it was also awful. She made me promise never to eat there again. Didn't finish our dinner. We both didn't feel good afterwards. The beans were the worse I'd ever eaten. Chicken taco and beef taco was just bad. Big slices of cheese, big long lettuce and the beef and chicken just tasted awful. The rice was pretty good yet I wouldn't call it Spanish rice. Food bland! Took the waitress about 15 minutes to bring the check even though we were done eating before a party of 6 came in and ordered drinks. Don't go here! Yuck!!!


Ugggg!!!, 6/9/2012
Reviewer: Dolores from Bakersfield Ca
Sat at the bar and service by bartender was great, the food not so great. I swear those were chili beans instead of retried beans. No good smells came from kitchen. Will not patronize this place again. This was my second visit. Still no difference from first visit.


Sucha great overall experience., 6/14/2011
Reviewer: Anne from Santa Barbara, CA
Everything was authentic and wonderful, from the food to the service, just wonderful!


Excellent Food and Service, 6/12/2011
Reviewer: CaliGurl from Santa Barbara, CA
This is such a special place with soft, elegant touches inside giving you the ambience that you're eating outside. The food is very clean, everything is definitely prepared fresh nothing is processed. The service was excellent and always with a smile. I will definitely come here again ...Prepare to be wowed!


Good Food/Service, 5/31/2011
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
The food I had was good. The servers were nice. The ambience is also nice, maybe the nicest ambience Mex in Carp? This place is not associated with the Senor Frog Chain, they apparently were across town awhile back and moved here. The presentation of the food was also nice. So if want some mexican but don't want to go to one of the other lower ambience(not necessarily worse food!) mex places in the area try this place.


okay food, nice wait staff, 6/30/2010
Reviewer: Amy Laura McLean from Santa Barbara, CA
hungry in Carpenteria. Had been to Senor Frogs in La Bufadora Ensenada and had a great time. This is NOT the same. The waitress was really nice, the food, so-so. But I was able to get an excellent mojito made from fresh mint growing right outside the door. And the pork in the chile verde was very good, the sauce sort of mass-produced/canned tasting. My husband's tacos de pescado were not very good.


Get the blonde server? Request a different server-trust me, 2/13/2010
Reviewer: Kami from Carpinteria, CA
I ordered the "froggie" style quesadillas. There are chicken beef and pork. They come with tomatoes, onion, cilantro and cheese. I know it may confuse some people some of the time, but it doesn't confuse me or my son. I cook all the time PORK AND BEEF ARE DIFFERENT! She brought me out pork so I advised her I got the beef, or as you would say in a mexican restaurant "carne asada". She insisted it was "stringed beef". It was in chunks. And it was PORK, LADY. So she brought me the beef minus the cilantro and tomatoes. Shouldn't even have tipped her the $5.


love the food, music, and atmosphere, 11/16/2009
Reviewer: a friend from Santa Barbara, CA
Great shrimp soft tacos! My husband loves the green wet burritos. Nice family owned business and we are happy to support them.


Bad Food, Bad Service, THE worst place in Carp, 9/29/2009
Reviewer: Maria Ferrone from Santa Barbara, CA
I just came back from Senor Frog (Carpinteria) and what a terrible experience. The only good thing about the food was its presentation, the beans and rice were very dry and the pork basically had no taste. The Margarita... my husband makes much better Margaritas and he is far from being Mexican. The atmosphere was depressing. Just the opposite of what Mexican culture is all about. And... they are for sure no kid friendly. I was asked by the only waitress to put the stroller (baby) away, because she had to walk around it and it was an inconvenience to her. I will never go back to this place. What a waste of location, they should give it up to another restaurant that will treat their customers better.


Senor B-L-A-N--D!, 8/6/2009
Reviewer: Tom Power from Santa Barbara, CA
Two servers met me at the door to take my 'to go' order. The one I placed the order with said it would take '15' minutes. I stepped out for 15 minutes to get wine at Von's next door...came back and the food wasn't ready but was assured it was almost ready. Another 10 minutes it was...and man, was it BLAND! Fish tacos that had a nice presentation but absolutely no taste! Black beans were dry and the chips were the 'taken from the warming drawer' variety. If you have any respect for Mexican culture (or food for that matter), Don't eat here.


BEST BURGER, 7/23/2009
Reviewer: BOB DUNCAN from CARPINTERIA ,CA
TUES THRU FRIDAY THEY HAVE A LUNCHEON CHEESE BURGER SPECIAL, LESS THAN $8 WITH CHOICE OF SIDES AND MANGO TEA...GREAT HAND CRAFTED BURGER. A REAL TASTE TREAT AND BARGAIN. GOOD SERVICE TOO!


Great? Authentic? Get Real!, 4/1/2009
Reviewer: Rachel from Visalia, CA
I came here due to online reviews. What a disappointment. Seating service was great and friendly, but the food was so bland and uninspired that my very bad pinot noir was somewhat tasty after taking a few bites. Please go somewhere else to spend your money! If you love real Mexican food- SKIP this Frog.


Excellent food, 8/30/2008
Reviewer: Darell from Phelan, CA
My wife and I happened to run across this restaurant while site seeing. We are going there again because we enjoyed the service and food....


Okay, but not great, 7/6/2008
Reviewer: Linda from Oxnard, CA
We reviewed the Mexican restaurants in Santa Barbara looking for one that had pleasant atmosphere and food. Judging by the picture of Senor Frog's, we thought we'd give it a try. It was pleasant inside, although the music was a little on the loud side, but we were seated in a pleasant booth. Our hostess and waitress were pleasant and accommodating and we received our food hot and attractively presented. I had the chile verde with double refried beans, a glass of iced tea, and a side of guacamole. The chile verde had ample portions of carnitas and sauce and was tasty. The refried beans were not mashed as much as I would have liked and were rather bland. The guacamole tasted better when I seasoned it with salt and pepper. My husband had the fish tacos but was not at all impressed by the flavor. I had a bit of his chile relleno and cut it into three pieces. In my opinion, it tasted awful and I couldn't eat the other two pieces. The iced tea was mango flavored and tasty, but I wish I could have been given a choice as far as having mango flavored iced tea or regular since I prefer the regular. I think we'll pass on Senor Frog's next time.


bad service!, 7/1/2008
Reviewer: Nancy from Santa Barbara
We came to this small restaurant very often due to it's location and the taste, but after the first incident happen, we told our office colleagues to never visit this place. They have 3 servers and one particular lady is the worst. The other server won't take more than 10min to serve us, she took more than 25min to bring our cold food. She literally told us to go to Mc.D if we want a fast service after we asked politely why is it so late (while the restaurant only had 3 other customers). She also those type of person who will judge you by the look and talk low to your tired looking. Such a waste for a good place, should have the other 2 excellent servers work instead of her.


great service, not so great food, 3/16/2008
Reviewer: Jaclyn from Vallejo Ca
We tried this restruant out, based on all the good reviews on here, we LOVED the atmosphere, and service, but not so much the food. It didnt taste very authentic, it was very bland. We would probably not return to try it again. Also, not so sure i would recomend it to anyone else. The atmosphere was wonderful... part of the reason we went there.


wonderful and amazing!, 10/10/2007
Reviewer: gina from Santa Barabra, CA
One of my favorite things to do on the weekend is to come here and enjoy breakfast with my boyfriend! we love this place very much! The chips come out warm, thin and crunchy and the salsa is so fresh! The food is out of this world! We usually get the fritata (sp?) and it's amazing! If you pick the fresh fruits as one of your sides -- ask them to put it on a separate because they usually put it on the same plate as the meal, and it gets warm and gushy. The reason why I did give them 4.5 on service is because we had to keep asking for refills. Other than that, amazing and wonderful!


The best Food Ever!!!, 1/31/2007
Reviewer: Horizon Airline Agents from Fresno, Ca.
This is one of the best mexican restaurants we've ever been to. It's hard to find real mexican food these days...especially one with an excellent atmosphere!!! The restaurant is very family orientated, gives off a great vibe and has great service.


No such thing as perfection....but they come close!!!, 8/28/2006
Reviewer: Ric Diaz from Oxnard (Formaly Carpinteria)
Great place to eat!! As a former Carpinteria resident I can say this is one of the best places in town. Great atmosphere great service and above all great food! Small yes, but what it lacks in size it makes up in atmosphere. You can have a casual nice sit-down meal and enjoy all Carpinteria has to offer. Over all I give them 4.5 just so then can continue to strive for that perfect 5....Great job guys keep it up!


EXCELLENT!!!, 6/30/2006
Reviewer: Susie Leon from Santa Barbara
THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT!! GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE. THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO.


LOVEIN IT FROM LAS VEGAS, 6/21/2006
Reviewer: NICOLE from LAS VEGAS, NV
WE HAVE DINED IN THIS RESTAURANT ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT OCCASIONS WHILE ON VACATION....I LOVE THE CHILE VERDE AND MY HUSBAND ENJOYS THE MENUDO ON SUNDAY MORNINGS. IT HAS NICE ATMOSPHERE AND THE OWNERS ARE INVOLVED IN THEIR BUSINESS. GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.


Excellent place to eat, 6/24/2002
Reviewer: Jennifer from Santa Barbara, CA
The employees in the restaurant are very friendly and hospitable. I enjoy the clean atmosphere and great food!


GREAT FOOD...WONDERFUL PEOPLE!!, 6/24/2002
Reviewer: Don from Provo, UT
I am from Carp and moved away and I miss Senor Frogs meals sooooo much...our family went all the time!! The food is the best and the people that run it are so kind!!


The best Chile Rellenos around, 6/24/2002
Reviewer: Chad from Carp
Senor Frogs has the best Chile Rellenos I´ve had. Most all of the other food is excellent and the salsa for chips can´t be beat.


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service