Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Giovanni's - Mesa
  
 
Ca Dario

Giovanni's - Mesa
No longer in business
Opened: 2009-03 Closed: 2019-07

1905 Cliff Dr, Santa Barbara
Phone: (805) 560-7492


Reviews by the General Public

try 4 yourself, 4/3/2015
Reviewer: Tim from Santa Barbara, CA
The place is very clean. The pizza crust is very tough and the cheese is very sticky and wants to pull all off. The lettuce for the salad is all iceburg.


needs inprovement, 7/16/2014
Reviewer: Detroit local from Santa Barbara, CA
Awesome salad! pizza was too chewy!


Favorite Pizza Joint, 12/28/2012
Reviewer: Tracy from Santa Barbara, CA
We come to Giovanni's probably 3 times/month and usually on a Friday night. The employees remember us and our order and we love that. We are pretty specific with our likings: extra sauce, extra cheese, extra crispy. My experience is that most restaurants ignore these requests, but Giovanni's gets it right every time. They also offer a thinner crust which we really like. Their ranch is some of the best too!


Twice a month!, 12/5/2012
Reviewer: Foodie Dan from Santa Barbara, CA
My family gets pizza and salads from this location at least twice a month. Last week I called in a "to go" order and when I arrived there were two people hand pressing dough into the pans. Frozen..no! We think this is the best pizza on the mesa!


Frozen dough, mediocre toppings, 12/4/2012
Reviewer: D C from Santa Barbara, CA
The pizza was obviously made from frozen dough - I have no idea how this place has such great reviews. If you're going to splurge on some carbs, do it somewhere else. The people are pleasant enough, but wow, the pizza was not better than a Hot-N-Ready...


nice place, 6/27/2012
Reviewer: katie and kim from Santa Clarta CA
i love that place become it good


Great Place!, 5/4/2012
Reviewer: Liz from Santa Barbara, CA
Great pizza. Nice, courteous employees.


Good Pizza, 11/15/2011
Reviewer: Cindy from Santa Barbara, CA
First time ordering Giovanni's pizza to go and found it to be MUCH better than their neighbor Mesa Pizza Co.


Best Restaurant Experience Ever!, 5/3/2011
Reviewer: Colleen from Santa Barbara, CA
My order is always made exactly to my liking. The atmosphere of this restaurant is very relaxed and comfortable. The friendliness of the employees was outstanding, a male employee with red hair went out of his way to make sure our party was taken care of to the fullest. I've had almost everything on the menu, and it's all worth every bite. If you are ever in town, or near the mesa, don't hesitate to stop by the best pizza restaurant in town!


A great pizza and wonderful service, 2/28/2011
Reviewer: Tonie from Santa Barbara, CA
I recently visited Giovanni's with my family and had a wonderful time. We ordered two pizza's and they were great. Try the sausage, onion, black pepper. Loaded with toppings. I will definately go back soon. The service was much better than previous visits. Keep up the great work!


Fantastic pizza, great atmosphere, 8/8/2010
Reviewer: Cregans from Ireland
First time in Giovanni's as we are on vacation from Ireland, loved the whole experience, fantastic pizza, great atmosphere, really friendly staff, we'll definitely be back.


The best meal around, 5/30/2010
Reviewer: Rob from Santa Barbara, CA
Due to finances, I rarely eat out nowadays. But I indulge myself at least once a week at Giovanni's on the Mesa. It really is the only restaurant that I go to on a regular basis. The pasta is great (especially with meatballs), the sandwiches are outstanding, the salads are delicious, and the service is phenominal. That's not to mention the out-of-this-world pizzas. My mouth is watering just thinking of my next Gio's visit. You order at the counter and sometimes (not usually) have to go to the counter to pick up your own food (esp if they're busy), but it's a pizza joint, not the Ritz. If you want to be "serviced" (sit down at the table and have someone wait on you), do NOT go to a pizza place.


Great service and excellent food, 2/1/2010
Reviewer: Sean spiteri from Santa Barbara, CA
The food is great and Daniel and his team are fun to be around. This is a great spot for your lunch break with fast service and also Internet service for your computer devices.


Good food, fair pricing., 2/1/2010
Reviewer: William Meyer from Santa Barbara, CA
I meet with friends here for lunch often, we are always happy with the food and the daily specials they have.


Consistent and Delicious!, 7/7/2009
Reviewer: Fabio H. from Santa Barbara, CA
This new location is great. The staff are friendly and helpful. The new building is beautiful. I have been eating at Giovanni's for years and it is still the best in town. This is NOT a fast-food chain so if you are looking for premade-super quick processed food this is not the place for you. They continue to make everying to order, which I appreciate and the restaurant is CLEAN which is also important. Locals know----this is the place for pizza and pasta!


Great New Location, 6/29/2009
Reviewer: Dan B from Vail, CO
I am usually in Santa Barbara three or four times a year on business, and my favorite pizza place in the world is Giovanni's. I used always go to the Giovanni's on upper State Street, but I was so happy on my recent trip to see the new Mesa location. The food and service at the Mesa location are better than I remember. The pizza is always served cooked to perfection and the crust is amazing. Last week, I was in town and ate here FOUR times! I only wish they had some sort of way to mail me Giovanni's in Colorado. I can't wait to be back.


MY NEW FAVORITE RESTAURANT! , 6/27/2009
Reviewer: Jim Doonan from Santa Barbara, CA
I've been to Giovanni's Mesa three times and each time it was just wonderful! I love the pizza! The chicken parm sandwich is delicious. It's a very nice, authentic Italian restaurant. The staff is friendly and very attentive. I highly reccomend it over any other Italian in SB. You won't be disappointed.


Best pizza in town!, 6/26/2009
Reviewer: Andrew from Santa Barbara, CA
Great food best pizza i've had in a long time! sausage was really fresh. Ranch is the bomb! nice atmosphere lot more space than the other giovanni's i've been to. My kids loved the video arcade a little to much. can't wait to go back! next time im getting a gringo!


Very disappointed, 6/17/2009
Reviewer: Adriana from Goleta, CA
I was with my husband for lunch and we decided to try this new restaurant. A sign in front of the door was showing the today special (pasta with marinara or meat sauce) for around $4.80 and we both took this. We waited aproximately 20 min to get served if we can say this because you have to go order and go take your plates. This is why I rated the service 0.5 stars. Basically you see somebody just to pay and wait and wait and wait. I will add that we were alone to order so they were very far to be busy. The pastas were overcooked, not enough drained. The meat sauce was a huge disappointment. I even went to ask if that was really meat sauce because I couldn't taste any meat. However the garlic bread was pretty good. To conclude, even if a lunch for 2 for less than $10.00 does not seem expensive, my estimate regarding the cost of this meal would not be more than 1 or 2 dollars. Definitely, pastas are much better at the SBCC cafeteria or even at home with the meat sauce from Trader Joe's.


Finally a good pizza place on the mesa!, 5/28/2009
Reviewer: Ted from Santa Barbara, CA
I'm a long time Mesa resident, and I've always felt like we needed a true pizza place. I've been by the new Giovanni's on the corner of Cliff and Meigs 3 times now, and everytime the food has been great and the service prompt and attentive. I particularly like their pizza, chicken-bacon ranch sandwich, and anti-pasto salad. I was actually surprised at how large the menu is compared to places like Rusty's and Deano's. The atmosphere is nice as well...open, bright, and airy with numerous flat screen tv's and nice decor. No more dark, dingy, dungeon feeling pizza places for me!


Why?, 5/13/2009
Reviewer: MIke from Santa Barbara, CA
Why do we need another pizza place on the mesa. The best ones are already there (Dean-o's and Mesa Pizza Co). I went to Giovanni's for lunch because I haven't had their pizza in years and it was no surprise that it wasn't anything special, at all. Right out of the oven the pizza crust was super soft, not crisp. They suck at pizza, sorry. Also, the jalapeno poppers were terrible. They were soft also, lukewarm, and not even remotely spicy. Service was good but big deal. Give me an angry New Yorker and a good pie over good service and a bad pie any day. I wish we could have gotten get another non-chain restaurant on the Mesa rather than this place. Booo!


Thems a Spicy Meatballs, 4/14/2009
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
The meatballs are good here along with the sauce. This place is more on the authentic Italian side over a Dominos type pizza so the wait will be longer. Nice inside with TVs to watch and outdoor seating and unlimited sodas. Some video games also. Good, Wide menu selection of various things.


Never going back again, 4/3/2009
Reviewer: Scott from Santa Barbara, CA
Probably the worst meal that I've had in Santa Barbara and some of the worst service. The server had one iPod headphone in while taking our order - that just might be why they got it wrong. Avoid the calzones at all cost. All the ingredients looked and tasted like they were ordered in bulk from Costco. The calzone itself was wet on the bottom like they didn't bother drying the plate before serving it. I definitely won't be back.


Won't be back, 4/2/2009
Reviewer: Chris from Santa Barbara, CA
Nice location. For a restaurant that we were looking forward to, we were let down by the less than impressive service and poor product. We ordered a large pizza that arrived with little sauce and tasted as if the ingredients were stale. We were not impressed with the cashier with the ipod earbuds in his ears who could not be bothered by taking our order.


Great pizza, 3/29/2009
Reviewer: Janet from Santa Barbara, CA
We have it to go and it's great--hot, fresh, and just the right amount of sauce, toppings, and spice. My friend loves the pepperoni and pineapple. I have to say it was so good with a sprinkling of basil on top. The service is still working out the kinks, but they'll get there. I just wish there was some place in SB that has the kind of thin crust pizza sold in New York and San Francisco. We're still stuck in the Deano's/Rusty's/Taffy's/Gio's style of "after soccer" pizza for kids.


Yeah! Gios on the mesa!!, 3/29/2009
Reviewer: Foodie Dan from Santa Barbara, CA
I usually have gone to the upper State St. location. I am so glad to have them closer to my house now. The inside is nice with a small game room for the kids(with a closing door)! The pizza is great. They slice all veggies and meats in the morning...fresh! The sauce cant be beat and the sprinkling of oregano on top makes it unique. The owner, Daniel, is always ready to help with reservations for large groups and his wife Loni is a doll. Go to this Gio's....the best!


How can you improve on perfection?, 3/17/2009
Reviewer: Carl from Santa Barbara, CA
3-17-09: My wife & I had been looing forward to the opening of Giovanni's on the Mesa since construction first began. We decided to avoid the 1st weekend's opening crowds; and went there for dinner last night. Well worth the wait; and well worth many repeat visits.


Work out the kinks guys!, 3/17/2009
Reviewer: Carolyn from Santa Barbara, CA
My husband brought home lasagna and ravioli, a caesar salad and one small pizza for us to eat at home. I know they said service was slow and I understand that was because it was very busy and that is not unreasonable to expect it was going to take awhile. What I will say on the negative side was that both of the pasta dishes tasted overly salty. And I guess that was the sauce although the cheeses are saltier types of cheese it shouldn't have been THAT salty. My son thought his small pizza, which one would consider a one person size pizza if you are a hungry kid, was too small. But he liked it still, the pizza was good. And the caesar was good enough, nothing over the top great but a decent, standard type caesar. Just watch the salt on the red sauces guys/gals!


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service