Santa Barbara Hotels
Santa Barbara Restaurants
Santa Barbara Real Estate
 Santa Barbara > Restaurants > The Lark
  
 List your business

The Lark
131 Anacapa St, Santa Barbara
Phone: (805) 284-0370

  • Category: American
  • Hours: Tue-Thu 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Fri-Sat 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm, Sun 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm, Closed Mon
  • Price: $20+
  • Serving: Dinner
  • Map
  • Web Site
  • Menu
  • Write a review of this location!

Reviews by the General Public

Two nights on a row at the Lark, 8/21/2014
Reviewer: Eric from Ft Lauderdale fl
Eric from Ft Lauderdale. Had two wonderful meals at the Lark. Atmosphere and service is unbeatable. Will try it again upon returning to Santa Barbara


Excellent Mothers day brunch, 5/15/2014
Reviewer: Andy from Santa Barbara, CA
This restaurant is a good addition to Santa Barbara which has lacked creative food until recently. The restaurant lends itself to eating family style, which allows everyone to try different things. Some of the highlights of our meal were the Kale Salad and the Pastrami cured Salmon. The pressed pork dish was also excellent. The chef is very good at mixing taste combinations with good quality ingredients. We will go back for sure.


Overpriced and unsatisfactory - I won't go back, 4/20/2014
Reviewer: Bernard from Santa Barbara, CA
As a birthday treat for my wife I took her to The Lark at lunchtime today. My wife ordered a frittata which she enjoyed, and I ordered a salmon entrée which arrived as though it was part of a sushi arrangement. I took a cautious bite, and it was raw. I also ordered an orange juice which was served in a miniature glass. To be fair, they credited back the price of the salmon without any fuss - other than the waitress arguing that "it's cured, so technically it's cooked". No, my dear - technically it's RAW. Earlier, the same waitress had repeatedly and quite aggressively tried to get us to order four or five things from the menu so we could share them. Two hours later I'm still hungry and regretting that we could have had three times as much food for about a quarter of the price elsewhere. This pretentious experiment in "nouvelle cuisine" left me feeling very unsatisfied.


Very creative menu but wines by the glass are tiny, 3/10/2014
Reviewer: CBrez from Santa Barbara, CA
Small and very creative plates, fresh and delicious. Great ambience and location, always busy. We had a drink at Les Marchands first then came over to the lark to buy a bottle. We were wondering if anyone else had issues with the absolutely minuscule wine pours. We each ordered a $15 glass of wine and it was literally a generous tasting or they say 5oz. Pretty lame, so we ordered a bottle at the lark. Feels like ordering a glass of wine is deterred, but ordering a bottle from Les Marchands is also deterred because of their high corkage fee at the lark. Not sure why since they are somewhat affiliated. Anyway, all and all, very good, lesson learned, would be back.


Creative & Very Good Food , 1/13/2014
Reviewer: Marna from Toluca Lake, CA
This restaurant is lovely ... we sat outside by the heater ... such a beautiful atmosphere. The food is creative & so good ... the portions are made for two people to share. Plated with perfection. The wait staff is wonderful ... they know what is in every dish! Wonderful dinner & we will be back!


Upscale, but same old fat-salt-sugar flavor combos, 12/27/2013
Reviewer: Kathy from Santa Barbara, CA
Limited menu. There are more alcohol than food choices. Heavy emphasis on pork, which seemed to be in every dish. Overall, the flavor points were the addictive fast-food combo of fat, salt and sugar. Definitely upscale, but still not healthy eating. As one reviewer pointed out, the polenta was loaded with butter. Afterwards, I was thirsty for hours from the salt. Not a restaurant for vegans or vegetarians. Extremely expensive for the quality and quantity. Everyone in my party was still hungry after the meal. Great ambiance. There's a glass wall into the kitchen and the decor is nice. A good place to meet for cocktails and small plates. However, we won't return for a meal.


Your posting of hours is incorrect, but Lark is a must try., 11/23/2013
Reviewer: Barbara from Santa Barbara, CA
The Lark is closed on Mondays. The awesome Lucky Penny is open, so if people show up for the Lark, they can still get a nice meal. Because I'm not a meat eater, I won't say much about the food, - other than that the menu is a bit flesh-heavy, so vegetarians...plan accordingly. However, the staff are excellent. Eager, professional, attentive. You can feel how important good execution is to the entire team. If you have the opportunity to stand outside and watch the kitchen work, it's fascinating and impressive. I don't see a separate listing for The Lucky Penny, so I will add that that place is a treasure. One of the young cooks at the pizza oven at night is a dynamo, perfectionist. You are in good hands with him.


Just what SB needs, 10/11/2013
Reviewer: Brian from Santa Barbara, CA
This place is just what Santa Barbara needs. Finally, a restaurant that isn't following the usual pattern of other restaurants in town. Up until now Santa Barbara has had no restaurants that reminded me of dining experiences I've had in SF, Seattle or LA. Lark has done that. Four of us went a week or so ago and it was great. Great atmosphere, knowledgeable and courteous staff and wonderful food. We were told to share a couple of platters and get a couple of smaller items and they were all great. Branzino was excellent. The rib-eye was really good too. Great beer and wine selection. Definitely going back.


Speed, not fine, dining, 9/14/2013
Reviewer: Bruce from Santa Barbara, CA
My wife and I ordered a bottle of wine which we normally pair with at least three courses. Instead, they wanted us to order all of the food at once. We resisted and tried to order three "courses". We would not order a new course until we finished one despite much pressure from the waiter. My wife spotted two tables eating pizza, and we asked our waiter who brought a pizza menu. Shortly after ordering a pizza as our third course, the manager came around and told us we could not order a pizza as we were not sitting at a table near the separate pizza establishment. We were there about 80 minutes, spent $125, and felt rushed to leave.


Great Ambiance, Food okay, 9/10/2013
Reviewer: Peter from Santa Barbara, CA
As has been written many times before, the vibe that this place exudes is outstanding. It does not feel like anything else in Santa Barbara. And for that reason alone, I know I'll be back. The food was just okay in my opinion. The burrata salad was excellent (and way too small to share....order your own), Pork sliders (buns were barely warm), scallops were just okay (and with only 3 not a good serving for sharing) and the pork shank was a little dry (and sure did not look like the serving photographed for some of the print publications). There were not a lot of other dishes that I would be excited to go back and try. The menu felt too limited to me. I hope they add a few more items because I really liked the place and the service. Drinks were fantastic.....order "the mule".


Interesting addition to the Funk Zone, 8/31/2013
Reviewer: Jeanne from Santa Barbara, CA
The look and feel of the restaurant is completely different than any place in SB! We ate inside near the confessional. It was a bit noisy but I imagine that the patio would be more intimate. The food was delicious and the servers were friendly. The "sharing" theme of the menu was confusing given the prices and sizes of what one might call the entrees. Our server put in a special request to have our meals come out at the same time since we weren't sharing them and they did come out together. The wine was nice but the pours were not very generous.


Great Ambiance and Staff - Terrible Food
Reviewer: Rob from Santa Barbara, CA
My wife and I heard mixed reviews on The Lark and thought we would give it a try on Saturday night. The decor and ambiance is fun and fitting for the funk zone. The wait staff were on it. This had the beginnings of a great experience and hopefully a new favorite place. I ordered the a med-rare rib-eye and my wife order the 1/2 roasted chicken. (Two staples that any good restaurant should be able to do well). My wife's food came about 10 minutes before mine. Her chicken came with polenta, which was terrible. It was like they melted 4 sticks of butter into it. We could not get the taste out of our mouths until I took a bite of my rib-eye. The cut of meat was poor and it was so over salted that I thought I was eating a salt lick. To make matters worse, the vegetables were swimming in the steaks au jus, which was a salt bath. I generally never complain about food but I told our server that the steak was inedible. She apologized and told me she would let the chef know. Later a manager came over to apologize (a little too much - which made us even more uncomfortable) and offered us a complimentary dessert. We declined, as we just wanted to get out of there. Did I mention that the steak was $38? (They charged us for it... even though I did not eat most of it and told them it was inedible.)


Fabulous addition to SB!
Reviewer: Kat from Santa Barbara, CA
We ate at The Lark on a whim last night and it was SUPERB. The atmosphere is amazing, service impeccable and food scrumptious. We will definitely be back!


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service