Santa Barbara Hotels
Santa Barbara Restaurants
 Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Los Agaves - De La Vina
  
 List your business

Los Agaves - De La Vina
2911 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara
Phone: (805) 682-2600

  • Category: Mexican
  • Hours: 11 a.m. 9 p.m. Monday Friday and 9 a.m. 9 p.m. Saturday and Sunday
  • Price: $10 - $20
  • Serving: Lunch & Dinner
  • Map
  • Web Site
  • Menu
  • Write a review of this location!

Reviews by the General Public

Not what we expected, 7/9/2014
Reviewer: Gary from Omaha, Nebraska
We found los Agaves by accident. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the attentive staff, and the tasty food. Our impression of the clientele at the dinner hour was that they were locals who frequent the restaurant. Most ordered without consulting a menu. The takeout business was brisk and un-ending. For us, as travelers, local enthusiasm is always a plus. Prices for food and drink. especially beer,were reasonable. We count los Agaves as one of our happy accidents.


hands down our favorite, 6/7/2014
Reviewer: LeeAnn from Santa Barbara
This is hands down our favorite Mexican restaurant in town. It is our "go to" for Mexican and we've been to every Mexican restaurant in Santa Barbara. Great menu with lots of variety. Great service too!


Need to hire more staff on your busy evenings, 3/7/2014
Reviewer: Huyen from Santa Barbara, CA
Carlos!!! I love love love your food. And so do a TON of other people in town at this location. That being said, please look into hiring more staff on your insanely busy nights, Thurs-Sat evenings because it's starting to take its toll. I tried to do take out for the first time and there was no organizational structure for doing so. I overheard some people waiting an hour for their take out. We left after waiting 20 minutes, and placed our order 20 minutes prior to arriving. Only one cashier working with 2 empty registers. Line out of the door, people inside at tables getting food at different times, some people's food never arriving, and tables not being bussed. This has happened the last few times I've been there or otherwise I wouldn't be writing this review. On a more positive note, thank you for accommodating our party of 15 on a Saturday night. They will take reservations on their busier nights early in the evening which is great. You still order in line but everyone got their (delicious) food in a timely manner. Congratulations on your success! Streamline and smooth some things out, and you guys are in for the long haul!


Great sauce, 2/7/2014
Reviewer: Manny from Santa Barbara, CA
I ordered the wet burrito and was happy with it. The sauce that they used to cover the burrito had a great flavor to it. The football sized burrito however was pretty much tortilla. The little meat that was in the burrito was very well seasoned and the small amount of cheese had a great flavor. So pretty much you are paying for great tasting sauce. As for the service...the person who took my order was the worst server I ever had. He was rude, in a fowl mood, and didn't even give me my reciept. When I asked to have one he complained about it and gave me attitude.


Once again a delicious meal, 9/16/2013
Reviewer: Stuart from Santa Barbara, CA
Try the alhambras. They are great and much better than the equivalent dish at that super hyped food stand on Milpas. The cochinita pibil was some of the best I ever had. Very juicy and succulent but watch out for the salad served alongside. It was HOT!. I also like the chicken mole. Great salsa bar. Friendly efficient service once you wait on line to order. Much larger space for seating than the original location has. The burrito was Ok not special. You can get good burritos elsewhere. This is a dependable go to again and again place for great Mexican food.


Excellent Food and Service!!!, 9/12/2013
Reviewer: Kaye from Santa Barbara, CA
I am very happy that Los Agaves is now open on De La Vina St. It is my favorite Mexican restaurant in SB. The wait staff is always friendly and courteous. The food is delicious (I recommend the Enchilladas Suisas). Every salsa is good, (and they let you take a lot of it!) Everything is clean and the parking is ample. While I can't afford to eat there every day, I look forward to a visit about every ten days. It's worth the money. Enjoy!


Good, but prefer original location, 9/1/2013
Reviewer: Don from Santa Barbara, CA
Had to try out the new location of our favorite Mexican restaurant. Meals at the Milpas location were always outstanding, although I miss the Molcajete served in a real stone bowl because the Health Dept. does not allow it. Interior is very well done and feels more spacious. The servers are accommodating. We ordered our favorites: Tampiquena and the Molcajete (even though the latter is not a menu item). The dishes were presented elegantly and tasted great, but the portions were smaller and the prices higher. Both dishes were missing the nopales that were the norm at the original location. The most down side is the parking situation. Very limited parking in back and a delivery truck was blocking access. We had to back out the whole way to the main street. If in the area probably would go there, but would prefer going to the Milpas location.


Pretty good, will go back, 8/29/2013
Reviewer: Justine from Santa Barbara, CA
Having been a handful of times to the one on Milpas, I tried this the other night for the first time. It's in my neighborhood, and I was craving nachos. Got the basic version, no meat, and it was tasty and generous with the toppings. I like that they have refried beans. The real standout of the meal was the horchata. I was told it is made fresh there every day and I believe it. It was not overly sweet, as it can be sometimes, but had wonderful notes of vanilla and other subtle flavors. I also liked that they filled the cup all the way with no ice, leaving me to drink a little and then add ice to my taste from their self-serve drink station. It was just after 5pm and I ordered to go... it surprised me that it took as long as it did, but it wasn't unreasonable. I will be back.


It's OK, 8/28/2013
Reviewer: Dianne from Santa Barbara, CA
A bit overhyped. I have been here twice now and I am glad it's another option in the neighborhood. Both things I had were OK but not mind blowing. Maybe because my husband's cooking is pretty good in the Mexican catagory. The presentation is nice and two thumbs up for the house salad option with the fruit and beet greens. The 3.0 for the service is not for the actual servers (they are great) but the person taking the order. Both times (not sure if it was the same gentleman) the order had to be repeated not less than three times. Not sure if it was up sell or what but I stated exactly what I wanted and I was questioned if I wanted something else to the point of reordering. Was he even listening? Also could you post the available beer and wine with the prices somewhere? Kind of a shock to have a $12 charge for a glass of common and not expensive by the bottle wine. We will be back for a couple things I want to try. I have lowered my expectations though.


My All Time Favorite
Reviewer: Karen from Santa Barbara, CA
Not only my favorite Mexican restaurant in town, but my favorite restaurant. So Delicious. Agaves Enchiladas are to die for. (shrimp and halibut). Great staff too.


Really Good Food and Service
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
As good of food as the Milpas one, good stuff. Nits to the place are little or no parking at busy times(maybe try parking lot across street?) and plates(compared to for instance a Rudy's) are not heaped with food. Though the food qty is probably fine we are probably just used to a bigger qty compared to other places. Overall the price may be 40% higher than a Rudy's with maybe 20% less food. The thing is that the food quality is at least one or two steps up from a Rudy's which let's them get away with it. The ambience is great, not overly noisy for me(depends where you sit probably). The service is great. The salsa bar arguably the best in SB. With this place open I don't know if Los Gallos will ever open up again? So if you go here definitely try the specials like enchiladas agaves etc. Definitely worth a trip and you don't have to hassle with noisy Milpas Street traffic.


Great dinner at Los Agaves!
Reviewer: Jessica from Santa Barbara, CA
Stopped in last night and was excited to try the new location. Great experience overall. Two of us ordered the shrimp tacos, and another ordered a burrito. All the meals were served beautifully on large plates, with LOTS of food on them. Beautifully put together! The chips and salsa bar were fantastic, and the manager even stopped by at the end of the meal to ask how everything was, and ask our opinion of the new location, as well as asked for any feedback. Wishing them the best of luck! Everyone at the restaurant was working hard and it really showed! Thanks for a great evening Los Agaves!


Diverse Mexican Food in Noisy, Crowded Setting
Reviewer: Steven from Santa Barbara, CA
We were looking forward to the opening of Los Agaves on DLV Street, which looks bigger than the Milpas location. The menu is the same. I usually order the nachos with shrimp, which is more than enough for two. However, as good as the nachos are, they are not staked well before heating, and the over abundance of cheese results in a gigantic (tasty) gloppy mess. A little more care in the assembly process, and the nachos would be excellent. The restaurant itself is quite noisy, so bring earplugs if you're sensitive. Despite being only moderately busy, the food still took about 20 minutes or so to come out, which seemed like a long time. Aesthetically, the new location is nicely designed, but the outside seating is lit by horrible high-intensity blue/white beams, which gives the place a ghastly back-of-warehouse feel.


Awesome success
Reviewer: Joshua from Santa Barbara, CA
I don't understand how I'm the first one to write a review for this place? I know they've only been open for 3 weeks but they've been packed every time I go in or drive by. Anyway, I have always loved this place and this second location is perfect for me to pick up food on my way home. Personally I think the food at this location is even better than the one on Milpas. The staff is friendly and literally everyone that works there makes sure you have everything you need. This place is definitely my number one go-to for awesome Mexican food.


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service