Santa Barbara Hotels
Santa Barbara Restaurants
 Santa Barbara > Restaurants > Chick-fil-A
  
 List your business

Chick-fil-A
3707 State St, Santa Barbara
Phone: (805) 687-0450


Reviews by the General Public

Worst chicken salad sandwich I ever had, awful shakes., 3/13/2014
Reviewer: Hugh from Goleta, Ca
I'd been here once before, the standard chicken sandwich was ok, just a bit better then frozen patties I make at home. The waffle fries are decent if a bit bland but all potato. I had noticed the chicken salad sandwich and smoothies on the menu the first time. It was a warm day, I was in the area and a smoothy sounded good. I should have stopped at the Natural Cafe as theirs is awesome. C-FA no longer have the smoothie and the gal at the counter recommended a strawberry shake. I ordered and waited, tying to ignore the 8' chicken-suit guy there that day as he mocked me. I got my tray and sat outside. I could not believe the dreadful taste and texture of the chicken salad, I can't complain about the wheat bread. One sip of the shake and I almost gagged. Sickly sweet, very artificial taste and texture, barely a hint of fake strawberry flavor. Can you send back fast food? Ick, I ate the fries and dumped the rest. I'll not be going back. It's a clean smooth operation there but I came for palatable food, not service.


"Flavorless" defined, 12/27/2013
Reviewer: John D from Santa Barbara, CA
What good is a decent wait staff if the food is blah at best? I doubt there is another restaurant on the South Coast whose food is so completely bland, uninteresting, nondescript and taste-free as that at CFL. The only difference between CFL and hospital food is that CFL food is way saltier. I guess it's too late to bring back Burger King?


Awesome Experience , 12/24/2013
Reviewer: Susan from Santa Barbara, CA
I am originally from the South and was excited to see a Chik-Fil-A open in SB. First of all, the customer service is exceptional!!! The staff goes out of their way to ensure your experience is a pleasant one. The food is awesome and it's just as I remember it, but better!!!


Delicious Fast Food, 10/27/2013
Reviewer: Karen from Santa Barbara, CA
The food here is a cut above other fast food outlets. The chicken sandwich was fresh and juicy and the waffle fries were quite good. The quality has been consistent with every visit.


Don't like, 9/16/2013
Reviewer: Stuo from Santa Barbara, CA
Ok I tried it three times. Food is lousy. Shakes are great. Service was friendly. Where do they get all the pimply faced kids who work there. I recommend you go on Sunday.


food is not that great overpriced and bad service, 6/10/2013
Reviewer: mike from Santa Barbara, CA
The food taste like McDonald's mc chicken only more expensive and the service while usually good when I go through the drive through was bad when I went in. I asked for a menu to go and the teenage kid says isn't that one in you hand in a little sarcastic cocky tone.(I had the catering one) I tell him it's the catering one and he turns around and then back to me and says I guess not.


Delicious, 5/21/2013
Reviewer: Ally from Santa Barbara, CA
I give it 5 stars bc of price and quality. For fast food this place is at the top of the list. Get chicken tenders with the chick fil a sauce. PS- Don't put up reviews not based on food (no place for politics).


Great review but,, 5/17/2013
Reviewer: Art from Santa Barbara, CA
Great review but don't blame the city. They have nothing to do with what restaurant opens on private property. Blame the landlord, not the city


deja vu, 5/17/2013
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
Uh so are there two Charlottes from Goleta? Maybe you can put a last initial or something to differentiate.


Spot on review, 5/15/2013
Reviewer: Charlotte from Goleta
Everything Jackie (previous reviewer) wrote was spot on! I completely agree.


Why all the Hype over a "Chicken Sandwich?", 5/11/2013
Reviewer: Jackie from Santa Barbara, CA
I have had CFA before...and it is a good sandwich....but it's gotten old real quick. I have noticed that the quality of the chicken they use now has changed..Their chicken is way too rubbery and it's just tastes too salty. Wish the city had allowed a different style of Restaurant to go into that space...something more relaxed, a sitdown place would have been much better....I mean how many fast foods places do we have to have in a 5 block area?? And that Drive-thru is a complete nightmare!! Hence why a sit down restaurant would have been wiser. Never going back...wish a Silvergreens or a cafe would have gone in there instead.


Addicted, 5/6/2013
Reviewer: Thelma from Santa Barbara, CA
I'm a person that doesn't much care for chicken, red meats etc.. since the first day eating Chick-Fil-A strips I want them every week. They are plump,juicey and sooo tasty especially with the buffalo sauce.


Surprisingly good, 4/24/2013
Reviewer: Charlotte from Goleta
The Spicy Chicken Sandwich was surprisingly good. The chicken was spicy, crispy, juicy and ample. Served on a nice, crispy, buttered bun, fresh, green leaf lettuce and fresh tomato. You can add a sauce if you wish, I chose the buttermilk. All around, the best fast food chicken sandwich I've had. The coleslaw, however tasted like classic KFC which is fine, but unfortunately the cabbage was pulverized, swimming in dressing (too bad, as I love the idea of coleslaw instead of fries). The real lemonade (sweetened with Splenda) delicious. The staff is very friendly and efficient. It's nice to see teenagers in the work force again.


Good Food and Service, 4/22/2013
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
I went close to when it first opened and the chicken sandwich was really cafeteria like but they figured it out when I went back, it really does need the put it on yourself bbq sauce though in my opinion. Fries good, cole slaw is like a minced KFC style and its just not there, mostly water. The wraps are good, maybe a little too much pepper though. My fave on the menu is definitely the chicken salad sandwich which is really good. Drinks are behind the counter but they will refill them for you(and bring to your table too). People really nice there in fact the nice owner was working the restaurant talking to people and even cleaning up spills. So I think they are still tweaking things hopefully for the better but all in all a good place to try now that the crowds are down and assuming your personal viewpoints will let you go there...


pretty good
Reviewer: chuck from Santa Barbara, CA
Nice selections, fair prices, good service and nice seating areas. Only issue (not a big deal) I wish the servers would stop saying "my pleasure" every time you say "thank you" Maybe they choose their own verbiage. Also, it would be nice if the breakfast hours would be extended. I will return.


wont eat there again
Reviewer: Olivia from Santa Barbara, CA
I gave this place two tries and second was worse than first. Took forever in the line, person who took the order easily confused and wrong change. Yes, the chicken and only the chicken is a little better than jack in the box but not the boring sandwich. If you want lettuce and more they really make you pay for it. Probably never going back. And what is up with the scrappy pickles, really! Not worth all the hype.


Some very tasty items - will return
Reviewer: Jinelle from Santa Barbara, CA
Some great items that are unique to the current fast food choices in this town - all good and will return: Tried both the Chicken Club and Crispy Chicken sandwiches. Yum, though in a tight little serving box - handle with care to keep it all together when you take out. Really great cole slaw for fast food - best way to up the nutritional value too - fresh, not overly sweet or heavy, tangy in just the right way - a winner. Potato cross-cuts were fine and had more good potato flavor than most other fast food fries which are just salty and hot. These in fact were fried *potatoes*. How novel is that? Both sweet tea and fresh lemonade were delicious, but a tad overly sweet. Loved seeing chicken nuggets and some soup with vegetables still keeps you into the 400 calorie total for a perfectly good meal so I will return to try that tool. I do see what the fuss has been about - the place was full and lots of families too. This is fast food, folks. No one is pretending it is anything else. But it was a collection of some of the most satisfying fast food that we have had in a long time. Pick a few things and do them well seems to be their motto. Clean, stylish decor, friendly staff and quick service. Lots to like.


I don't understand
Reviewer: Seth from Santa Barbara, CA
I don't understand the hype behind this place either. It's just your average fast food chicken and service. People were lined up at the drive thru like they were giving food away. What a waste of space, would of been nice to see something other then fast food go into that location.


Tastes like rancid grease and salt
Reviewer: Jason from Santa Barbara, CA
Given all the hype, I couldn't resist trying it, but now I regret it. I was expecting more than a typical fast food chicken sandwich. But this thing tasted like rancid grease and was salty enough to make you pucker. The sweet tea was tasty though. They also need to keep up better with wiping down tables and serving areas.


Why all the hype?
Reviewer: Charlotte from Goleta
First time at CFA....why all the hype? The breakfast I ordered ended up in the bin! Soooooo salty, even for fast food, way too salty. From the spicy chicken biscuit to the pathetic hash browns (more like tater tot discs with a tremendous amount of salt). The fresh lemonade was good, I even found some seeds at the bottom of my cup (impressive). The staff were really friendly and trying really hard to please. I will go back for the lemonade only. What a waste to put a fast food place in such a beautiful location, being right at the creek side...what were they thinking? A nice restaurant with a patio would have made more sense.


not great
Reviewer: sam from Santa Barbara, CA
after waiting in line for 20minutes in the drive thru my anticipation was thru the roof upon gettting my huge bag of everything i could try the waffle fries were poking out i tried one .... not cooked and soggy... sure your busy but cook ur damn food.. the reg chicken sandwich was ok... my spicy chicken deluxe was decent.. my gf said the best thing about it was here sprite. hopefully it will get better in the next few weeks when the hype cools off ... ill be back.


LOVE IT
Reviewer: Alberto from Santa Barbara, CA
Chik Fil A is a great place to go and eat a high quality meal with a small amount of time. I love chik fil a because it is a true southern hospitality style restaurant because they treat you as their number one priority, and the food is healthy aswell. I loved it in Atlanta and now i Love it in Santa Barbara


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service