Santa Barbara Hotels
Santa Barbara Restaurants
 Santa Barbara > Restaurants > India Club
  
 List your business

India Club
5701 Calle Real, Goleta
Phone: (805) 967-7171

  • Category: Indian
  • Hours: Lunch 11am-2:30pm, Dinner 5pm-9:30pm
  • Price: $10 - $20
  • Serving: Lunch & Dinner
  • Map
  • Menu
  • Write a review of this location!

Reviews by the General Public

Buy Madhur Jafffey's Indian Cookery book instead, 4/17/2014
Reviewer: Laurie from Santa Barbara, CA
Their food is akin to frozen Indian food which Trader Joe's does much better for far cheaper. Since there is no other Indian food in Goleta, I tried India Club but was immediately put off by the extreme unfriendliness of the manager. He clearly does not wish to be waiting on the general public. If the food had been somewhat alluring I would have put up with the it, but after three tries...forget it. He does a disservice to his otherwise friendly hired help.


Just passable, 4/15/2014
Reviewer: Nisha from Santa Barbara, CA
Since i come from India, i have tasted far better Indian food than the one you get anywhere in Santa Barbara. But still spice avenue is way better than this one. for the items they provide, the price is too much for buffet. no variety for desserts or starters. Naans were not really naans but regular bread dough with lots of yeast in it, rolled like naan bread. Indian naan bread is too different than this. I didn't return empty stomach and at least one of the rice and curry was decent. But i don't think I would go there again. I would rather take little more pain and go to state street.


Bad again, 3/18/2014
Reviewer: Mukesh from Santa Barbara, CA
The food quality has recently become poor and also they have tossed out out two buffet entry specials like Biryani rice. The service was also not friendly, the manager declined to give me a go box for my unfinished naan breads saying we don't give to go boxes for buffets.


Much improved now, 2/6/2014
Reviewer: Mukesh from Santa Barbara, CA
I gave this one more try, they have a new chef I believe, the chicken tikka masala, madras chicken curry, pokaras and rice pudding were yummy!, the tandoori chicken was not that great though,


Improved!, 10/31/2013
Reviewer: Hugh from Santa Barbara, CA
Very pleased to see they have added a Soda Fountain. No more pay-per-can drinks! They have moved the deserts to the chutney bar and added 2 vegetarian dishes to the last chaffing dish for the buffet. Tandoori chicken was great as was the Tikka Masala. The vegetarian dishes were a spiced noodles and tofu Biriyani, a very highly spiced rice, amazing flavors. Counter service has always been good and they take your dishes promptly. Not much to the salad but it's free, I douse it in raita and wrap it in my naan bread, theirs is so fresh and good. They have a lunch club card for a future free buffet. I am still liking this place very much and now it has gotten even better imho.


Very good all around, 7/15/2013
Reviewer: PJ from Santa Barbara, CA
Have had lunch here 4 or 5 times. They now have a lunch buffet. The food is fresh and there is a nice variety. The staff is pleasant. It is overall very good.


Not Impressed, 7/10/2013
Reviewer: Tina from Santa Barbara, CA
I was not very impressed by the food, but I have never had Indian food before so I don't know if the food isn't good Indian food or I personally just don't like Indian food. The service wasn't bad but there really isn't any as you order at the counter. They did pick up plates promptly and bring the naan out quickly. I had the lunch buffet and it didn't seem like very many choices. Also, the food wasn't very hot. I did love the naan bread. Glad I tried it but won't be going back.


Good Food and Service, 5/3/2013
Reviewer: Glenn from Buellton
Yay, they opened the buffet! Had the buffet and it was good, similar to the Spice Avenue one that I believe are the same owners(or related) as this place. So its a good place for all those in Goleta who can't make it to Flavor of India, All India Cafe or Spice. Hard to say to make the trip from SB just for this place when those others are there. Their buffet choices were wider than Flavor of India but the pure simplicity of Flavor and customer service(really good naan at your table when you sit) as opposed to this place where it came near the end of the meal and was just Ok makes it hard to top Flavor. But this is a good place to go for the lunch buffet crowd in Goleta now. I believe one of the owners was there and was nice. Definitely try the desserts. It would be could if they could crank AC on hot days. Overall the best Goleta option for Indian food.


Eh, Oh, Way to Go, Goleta
Reviewer: Greg & Yukari from Santa Barbara, CA
A very fine addition to Goleta’s wanting food community. India club is not a fancy restaurant: You order at the counter; you find a table; you get your own water. There is even a “chutney bar” modeled after Salsa Fresh, only most of them are quite tasty. The upside is that it is better Indian food than you will find in SB — including the tourist spots on State (or that other place). Frankly, we’ve tried them all and we don’t have a good Indian restaurant. But this place puts out good honest ethnic cuisine at a reasonable price. I had the lamb special, which was very good. (Order spicy cuz that’s just a mild burn). She had the fish tikka masala, which was fine but a tiddlywink sweet to match the fish. The breads were good. We look forward to trying more dishes. They are very take-out friendly. I you need to pick up dinner on the way home, Idea club could be an excellent choice.


Not impressed
Reviewer: Mukesh from Santa Barbara, CA
I have had the lunch specials and Dosa on weekends, the food does not have taste, it is bland, only moderate quantity and quality and the manager is not friendly, good friendly owners though


Okay Food But Overpriced - Service Was Somewhat Lacking
Reviewer: Ken from Santa Barbara, CA
We looked at the chutneys when we first entered the place, but the server was convinced we wanted the buffet. Despite telling him we didn't, he explained at great length that there was no buffet. Okay, got it. Service was, shall we say, "selective," with some guests getting a good welcome, but we didn't. We noticed a server brought cutlery for one guest, whereas we were just told where to get that for ourselves. Our meal, for two, cost nearly $30, which is way too much considering what you get, and the fact that this is more of a cafe than a real restaurant (I mean to say, $5 for two somosas?). Food was okay, but it lacked a distinct flavor and texture, so it wasn't the best Indian food I've ever had. The offhand service alone doesn't make me want to go again, and there are better Indian restaurants that offer far more value for money. With more competitive pricing, and far better service, this place could pack them in, but it won't be doing that anytime soon, I think.


Great first experience
Reviewer: Jeff from Goleta, CA
My first visit. Was favorably impressed. Had the Lamb Vindaloo and it was GREAT. All of the people in my party commented on the good food. Service was attentive but not suffocating. This is a good place that I will go back to. Recommended.


Have you eaten here? Write a review of this location!  Terms of Service